(The ABVO is the credentialing arm of the ACVO.)


1. Be a veterinarian.
2. Have attained the minimum required veterinary experience. (currently 48 months; 12 months of which must be prior to residency training)
3. Have completed or be scheduled to complete an ABVO-approved residency training program by August 1st of the year in which the examination is to be taken.
4. Be of satisfactory ethical standing.
5. Have completed and submitted by the deadline all documentation and fees required as part of the credentialing process.
6. Pass a series of examinations.
7. Maintain Certification through the MOC program (Diplomates boarded 2015 or later)


What is the ACVO?

The American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists® (ACVO®) is an organization, not an actual physical location, that (through the American Board of Veterinary Ophthalmology® or ABVO®) has established certifying criteria for Diplomates of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists (DACVO®) and residents in training to become Diplomates. To become a DACVO, a person must first graduate from veterinary school, attain a minimum of 12 months full-time clinical practice as a veterinarian, and complete a 3-year or longer residency training program in veterinary ophthalmology under the supervision of at least one DACVO. A number of the resident’s credentials are monitored by committees of the ABVO before, during, and after the residency training program is completed. The applicant must then submit credentials for approval, if approved permission to take the ABVO certifying examination will be granted. The exam is a multi-day process consisting of multiple written and practical components. After achieving all of these criteria, a veterinarian is recognized as a "Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists" and is board-certified in veterinary ophthalmology. No one may use this title unless they have successfully completed all of these steps.    

Tips on how to locate a residency program.
For more information about residency programs please contact the Residency Committee.